Department of youth

ORANGE will field its youngest team in recent memory for tomorrow’s Western Zone Premier League, and President’s Cup, clash with Mudgee at Wade Park.

Orange is vying not only for a place in the President’s Cup final, but also for third spot in the WPL.

Orange sits equal with all three other Mitchell Cricket Council teams, Mudgee, Bathurst and the Blue Mountains, in both the President’s Cup and the WPL.

“Third spot would be nice,” Orange coach Steve Ryan said.

“But the President’s Cup is what we want.”

The equation is simple; win tomorrow, and secure a place in the President’s Cup final.

They’ll have to do it without several Orange cricket stalwarts, Ryan said.

“It is a bit disappointing to have to do it without a few of the boys, but their situation is unavoidable,” Ryan said.

“Regular skipper Matt Findlay is out, as are Lincoln Duncan, Dan Sandford and Jono Warren. We’re confident though, and back the 12 we’ve picked.”James Ryan will take the reins of the baby-faced Bluebags, who average just 21 in age.

From the Cowra game, Andrew Johnson and Jackson Coote have taken the places of Richie Venner, who was only filling in, and Sandford.

Ryan said his troops are looking forward to a good battle with Mudgee.

“They are just as young, if not younger than us,” he said.

“They’re a good side though, and have some very good players. If we can put our plans in place and execute them, fingers crossed we get ourselves a spot in the final.

“It should be a great game.”

Play between Orange and Mudgee begins at 10am, at Wade Park.

n ORANGE: James Ryan (c), John Warrington, Charles Litchfield, Matt Baker, Matt Brakenridge, Matt Corben, Max Dodds, Jake Pauletto, Jackson Coote, Chris Novak, Ed Morrish, Andrew Johnson.

n  MUDGEE: Jacob Edmonds (c), Michael Ford, Troy Kenny, Wade Burrow, Stuart Fredericks, Harry Ottley, Hayden Cox, James Ford, Trent Bright, Nick Chapman, Sam Joyce.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide