In with a sporting chance of the big gong

ORANGE’S best sportspeople are set to be honoured at tomorrow’s Australia Day sports awards in Cook Park.

Thirty-eight sportsmen and women have been recognised as the leading sportspeople in town, based on performances from 2013.

Among the list is recently crowned Professional Bowlers Association player of the year Jason Belmonte, who will not attend the ceremony as he will be competing in the Barabasol Tournament of Champions at Thunderbowl Lanes in America.

Netballers, basketballers, boxers, martial artists, swimmers and triathletes are among the other athletes being acknowledged.

The sporting organisation of the year, and sporting personality of the year awards, won last year by the Orange District Junior Cricket Association and Steve Hamson and Mick Gray respectively, will also be presented.

The Australia Day awards start at 7.30am with a community breakfast, with the sports awards to begin at 11.30am.


Mardi Aplin - netball

Will Baker - swimming

Chloe Barrett - hockey

Jason Belmonte - tenpin

Sienna Boland - basketball

Dean Brus - shooting

Charlie Bubb - muay thai

Hayley Butcherine - hockey

Brock Campbell - boxing

Courtney Chapman - swimming, cross country, running

Jay Cole - basketball

Brandon Connolly - cross country

Lara Cowling - shooting

Rachel Divall - hockey

Nick Flannery - tenpin

Ryan Griffin - rugby, touch

Tristan Harrison - triathlon

Steph Harrison - triathlon

David Hayward - tenpin

Donna Holland - tenpin

Charlotte Jasprizza - netball

Jesse Keegan - squash

Lauren Kerwick - triathlon

Phoebe Litchfield - athletics

Lachlan McHatton - soccer

Bernie Mills - basketball

Eliza Mills - basketball

Dave Oates - shooting

Dean Pallier - basketball

Michael Rudd - netball

Zac Simons - basketball

Sarah Skidmore - basketball

Madison Smith - hockey

Lachlan Stewart - rugby

Connor Whiteley - triathlon

Max Wicks - shooting

Mitch Williamson - athletics/running

Tori Writer - gymnastics

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide