Environment, economic development and services committees change hands

SOME of Orange City Council’s key policy areas will have fresh leadership following votes on Tuesday night.

Councillor Mario Previtera will head the environmental sustainability committee, taking over from councillor Stephen Nugent, who will move onto the services committee.

Councillor Tony Mileto will chair the employment and economic development committee, taking over from councillor Jeff Whitton.

Finance will remain with councillor Joanne McRae after defeating councillor Scott Munro, while councillor Russell Turner will continue to chair planning.

Sport and recreation will stay with councillor Jason Hamling, who was elected unopposed.

Cr Romano was also elected unopposed to the infrastructure policy committee.  

Councillor Kevin Duffy was nominated for the services committee, which he had chaired for the past year, but declined the nomination.

Cr Munro stood for three other committees, but lost the ballots. 


Receive our free newsletter delivered to your inbox every morning, as well as breaking news alerts. Sign up here