Greylands boys seal history-making cup win in second straight success

Greylands has become only the third side in Cowra Tens history to win back-to-back Cup titles.

Greylands defeated Queanbeyan Whites 24-10 in a replay of last year’s Cup decider at the Cowra Rugby Grounds on Saturday, marking the 27th annual edition of Australia’s oldest rugby tens tournament.

The victorious team included Cowra’s Central West duo Chris Miller and Tom Dewhurst and Eagles five-eighth Troy Jeffs, who missed out on the decider after suffering a hamstring injury during the pool rounds.

Greylands and Queanbeyan were engaged in a tight battle before two late Greylands tries extended the halftime score of 12-10 to 24-10.

Greylands gun Jack O’Conner, who plays club rugby for Harden, was named player of the tournament.

Organiser Adam Meiklejohn confirmed that Greylands join Manly and Woodstock Wallys as the only sides to win two straight Cowra Tens Cup finals.

“It’ll be interesting to see if they go around again,” Adam Meiklejohn said.

“Chris Miller and Tom Dewhurst got through unscathed and played really good rugby throughout the day.

“It was a good hit-out for them,” he added.

A team called the GOATS made up of players based in Randwick and organised by Cowra junior Alec Corcoran took out the Plate final against Woy Woy Lions, while the Temora Marlins defeated Gunghalin in the women’s decider.

It was probably one of the best days in six or seven years.

Adam Meiklejohn

New Central West Rugby Union CEO Matt Tink was recognised as the best referee on the day, the Woy Woy Lions received the John Thornett Medal for entering two men’s sides and women’s side and the Paddys picked up the Atom Milner Memorial Trophy for continued support after being the first team ousted.


Discuss "Greylands boys seal history-making cup win in second straight success | Photos"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.