THE fascinating history of Holy Trinity Anglican Church – and its rectory and bluestone hall building which was the original church – was revealed to an enthusiastic group of history buffs on Saturday.
Heritage architect James Nicholson spoke of his ongoing endeavours to locate the name of the architect who designed the first church on the site.
Mr Nicholson showed the group the earliest known image of the site, a painting from 1868.
The photograph shows the original rectory, which had a single-storey balcony at the time it was constructed in 1856.
The painting also showed the bluestone hall where the first service was held in January, 1858.
Former rector Archdeacon Frank Hetherington also contributed to the tour, providing insights from his time living in the rectory with his family for many years.
The church’s features highlighted in the tour included the stained-glass windows, the pipe organ installed in 1913 and the marble font dating back to the same year.