Tilburg on top again at WRAS awards: netballer of the year for two years running

TWO IN A ROW: Orange's Abby Tilburg won the WRAS Netballer of the Year award for the second year running.

TWO IN A ROW: Orange's Abby Tilburg won the WRAS Netballer of the Year award for the second year running.

ORANGE’S Abby Tilburg was awarded the 2014 Charles Sturt University Netballer of the Year award at the Western Region Academy of Sport’s annual awards night last Saturday, for the second consecutive year.

Tilburg, who plays with OHS High A in the Orange Netball Association Toyota Cup competition, was awarded the netball gong after a stellar 2014.

After trialling, and being chosen, for three different Netball NSW State League squads, Tilburg represented Sutherland Shire’s third division side in the competition.

For the third consecutive season she represented Western Combined High Schools, and was set to trial for the NSW side but was forced to withdraw due to an ankle injury.

Most recently, Tilburg was lifted into Orange’s top Regional State League side.

Several of Orange’s other sporting stars were recognised at the ceremony including basketballer Andrew Gray, who was presented the Chariman’s Award.

Thomas Zeylemaker was also presented with the Softballer of the Year award, Lauren Kerwick won the Triathlete of the Year, Bruce McLean was awarded the Coach of the Year and Kym Watson the Manager of the Year.

Kinross Wolaroi graduate Edwina Bone, fresh off a Commonwealth Games gold medal win with her Hockeyroos, was also inducted into the WRAS Hall of Fame.

Bone was a hockey scholarship holder at WRAS from 2003-2005, and her parents Gary and Zelma were on hand to accept the award on Saturday night.

Lithgow’s Wayne Gaynor was given life membership and Andrea Gillard, also from Lithgow, took out the top gong - the WRAS Athlete of the Year.

The other CSU squad athletes of the year were Bathurst trio Emily Matthews (basketball), Aiden Charters (men’s hockey) and Sarah Watterson (women’s hockey), Dubbo’s Luke Ensor (cycling) and Cowra’s Laura Cummings (golf).

Several strength and conditioning awards were also presented to Mitchell Gurney (Lithgow), Dylan Thompson (Bathurst), Abigial Wilson (Lithgow), Aiden Charters (Bathurst), Emilie Miller (Bathurst), Carina Floyd (Bathurst), Thomas Zeylemaker (Orange) and Tom Kotzur (Dubbo). 

Orange’s Megan McFarland and Bathurst’s Ben Rushton were joint Interns of the Year.