Candidates line up for Local Land Service vote

RURAL landholders will have the choice of 28 candidates when voting for three members of the first Central Tablelands Local Land Services (LLS) board.

But with no one from Orange putting their hand up to represent the region the closest candidates will be from Millthorpe.

LLS chair Ian Armstrong and one of the three minister-appointed board members Reg Kidd were unconcerned.

“Looking at where people come from, it’s right across the area and it pretty well encapsulates the broad boundaries of the LLS,” Mr Armstrong said.

“[Board members] represent the whole area of the central tablelands ... [but] it’s natural instinct to represent your own area.”

Mr Kidd said Orange would have good representation, with himself and fellow minister-appointed board member Ian Rogan both based in Orange.

Voters have until 5pm on Monday, February 17 to submit their enrolment form.

Although about 17,000 Central Tablelands landholders are eligible to vote in the LLS election, so far only about 800 have registered to vote in the optional postal vote election, Mr Armstrong said.

But he does not believe voting should be made compulsory.

“It’s a democratic system where it’s up to people themselves if they vote or not,” he said.

“This is free choice, that’s the way you get the best thinking.”


An LLS spokeswoman said historically about 20 per cent of ratepayers voted in elections for the now-abolished LHPA, taken over by the LLS.

Mr Kidd urged all LLS ratepayers to vote.

“It’s no good sitting back and making comments if you don’t,” he said.

“If you have concerns, and you really want to have input, use your right if you want to have a say on biosecurity.”

Once elected, the board will meet at least once a month at various locations in the central tablelands.

Ratepayers enrolled to vote in the now-abolished LHPA must re-enrol for the LLS.

Ballot papers will be distributed to registered voters from February 17 and must be returned by 5pm, Wednesday, March 12. 

For more information or enrolment assistance call 1300 795 299.

Candidates for the Central Tablelands Local Land Services (LLS) board

PARKES: William Henry 

BLAYNEY: John Edmondson

WHITE ROCK: John Byrne

MILLTHORPE: Bruce Reynolds, Bruce Gordon

BATHURST: Ashley Bland, Ian Hendry, Bradley Cam, Dr Jess Jennings

MUDGEE: George Hamilton, Hunter White

ILFORD: Mitchell Clapham

LOWTHER: John Lowe

COWRA: Michael Flannery

CUMNOCK: Donald Bruce


KANIMBLA: David Mansfield

GOOLMA: Louisa Kiely

MOUNT LAMBIE: Colin Hunter

OBERON: Keith Walker

EUGOWRA: Raymond Agustin, Therese Herbert

KOORAWATHA: Leslie Sutherland

CANOWINDRA: Scott Hickman

BILLIMARI: Peter Smith

LITHGOW: Walter Bodnar

RYLESTONE: Sam Hamilton, Darren Baguley

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide