On a good thing and sticking to it

IF it ain’t broken, don’t fix it.

Orange District Cricket Association selectors look set to reward Orange’s undefeated start to the Mitchell Cricket Council’s (MCC) under 21s championship by naming an unchanged line-up ahead of Sunday’s clash with the Blue Mountains at Wade Park.

Orange is unbeaten following three rounds of the 2013-14 premiership, with a round one bye, a 76-run victory over Mudgee and an emphatic 24-run triumph over reigning MCC champions Bathurst already on the board.

Facing somewhat of an unknown in the form of the cattle pups on Sunday, Orange coach Phil Dodds said the key to his side’s successful start to the summer was simply having fun.

“I think we just need to keep doing what we’re doing,” he said.

“The boys are really enjoying their cricket at the moment. They have a lot of fun out there but at the same time when it comes time to knuckle down they do.

“Being successful obviously helps.”

Orange has posted 7-246 and 7-223 in its two batting innings so far this season.

Both have proved to be more than defendable.

But Dodds believes if there’s any area Orange can improve on it’s with the bat.

“We’ve had a few starts and then not gone on with it. That happens though. Each time we’ve been lucky others have picked up the slack,” he said.

Despite being undefeated, Orange (20 points) sits second on the ladder behind Bathurst (23).

Bathurst has played one more game, however.

Lithgow is the next best placed Mitchell colts outfit on 16 points from three games, with Mudgee (13) and the Blue Mountains (six) completing the rankings after three rounds.

Dodds believes the Blue Mountains will defy their place on the 2013-14 ladder and provide Orange with a stern test on Sunday at Wade Park.

“They’ll be reasonably competitive,” he said.

“It’s their home game but they moved it to Wade Park because they want to play on turf, which is great for us.”

n ORANGE: Hamish Finlayson (c), John Warrington (vc), Charles Litchfield, James Ryan, Jake Pauletto, Matt Corben, Max Dodds, Jono Warren, Andrew Johnson, Braden Riles, Sam Nicholls, Tom Rogers.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide