Re-shaped land management structure kicks in

THE start of the new year marked the start of a new era in land management in NSW.

Eleven new Local Land Services regions have taken over the operations of the Livestock Health and Pest Authorities and Catchment Management Authorities.

Former deputy premier Ian Armstrong has been appointed chairman of the Central Tablelands LLS, covering a region taking in Bathurst, Orange, Mudgee, Cowra and Lithgow.

He has been joined by state-appointed board members Reg Kidd, Pippinella Job and Ian Rogan.

Central Tablelands LLS ratepayers will elect three more board members on March 12.

Nominations for the board positions are now open and local ratepayers are also urged to ensure they are on the new electoral roll.

“As LLS is being established as a new organisation, the existing Livestock Health and Pest Authority (LHPA) electoral roll will not be brought across,” Mr Armstrong said.

“Enrolments are now being taken for the LLS electoral roll as well as nominations to stand as a candidate for the Central Tablelands LLS board.

“To vote in 2014, current LHPA ratepayers must complete an application for enrolment on the LLS electoral roll form. If you would like to stand for election you must also complete a nomination for election form.”

Former Lachlan Catchment Management Authority program manager Peter Sparkes has been appointed the inaugural general manager of Central Tablelands LLS.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide