Finals rivalry continues

THE rivalry between CYMS and Cavaliers is set to be revived in Saturday’s Orange District Cricket Association limited overs final at Wade Park.

History is against CYMS - in the last decade the two teams have met in eight finals matches for eight Cavaliers victories.

The maroons have got the chocolates over the green and golds in four grand finals and four semi-finals over the past 10 seasons.

In the 2004-05 major semi-final Cavs bowled CYMS out for just 65, taking an easy 193 run win.

A fortnight later Cavs chased down CYMS’ 241 with two wickets in hand to secure a grand final win.

In the 2006-07 major semi Cavs overcame CYMS by 11 runs, before piling on 8-467 in the grand final, before CYMS surrendered for just 132.

The maroons made it back-to-back grand final wins over CYMS in 2007-08 with a comfortable 81-run win.

In 2009-10 Cavs secured a three-wicket win in the major semi before running through CYMS for just 92, having scored 222 the previous week, to secure a 130-run grand final victory.

Finally, in the 2011-12 semi-final Cavaliers secured a 58-run first innings victory before batting again and rubbing salt into the wound, finishing 0-107 in its second dig.

Worryingly for CYMS, Cavaliers line up on Saturday will include three players who played in all eight finals games, and one who made his mark on three.

Cavaliers skipper Richie Venner, Stuart Middleton and Chris Martin are veterans of all four grand final wins, while Brad Wright played in three.

Venner and Middleton have consistently performed against CYMS in finals.

Venner has knocked up four half-centuries to Middleton’s three, and both have snared five-wicket hauls.

Wright made his mark on both the ‘06-07 and ‘07-08 grand finals, picking up five-fors in both games.

In return, Alan Dhatt and Matthew Morrow are the only CYMS bowlers to take more than three wickets in a dig, and Michael Delaney and Michael Johnston are the only two batsmen to pass 50.

Dhatt is the only player who remains in CYMS’ line up.

Comparatively the two teams are completely different from those which battled over the past decade.

Cavs have lost stars like Lincoln Woods, Craig Evers, Aaron Gray and Allen Sullivan, replaced by youngsters Liam Gough, James Ryan, Matt Corben, Josh Doherty and Tom Westcott .

CYMS has lost Delaney, Johnston, Dean Turner and both Jake and Josh Sands over the years, with teenagers Eddie Wright, Michael Hannelly, Jack Sharpe and Grant Koch filling out the middle order on Saturday.

So far this season the teams have shared the spoils with CYMS bowling Cavs out for just 91 in round five, passing the total with six wickets in hand, while Cavaliers produced a eight wicket demolition job on the green and golds last weekend.

Saturday’s final starts at 12pm at Wade Park.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide