POLL: All the President's men

ORANGE selectors have rewarded club form, picking a 14-man squad for Sunday’s Western Zone Premier League clash with Blue Mountains, at George Park in Bathurst.

After being demolished by Dubbo two weeks ago, selectors Steve Ryan, Steve Warrington and Chris Novak named a markedly different squad to that of the Dubbo game.

A win over the Cattle Dogs on Sunday would go a long way to securing Orange the President’s Cup and as such Warrington said it was necessary to pick the best available team, based on form.

“It’s time to start picking the team on form,” he said.

“We have remained loyal to the majority of the squad. The SCG Cup is a forgotten memory now, this is the most important game we’ve played all season.

“The Presidents Cup is our goal.”

Orange City opening batsman John Warrington comes into the team, leaving selectors with a potential headache, fitting four opening batsman into two positions.

Warrington said all four batsman commanded selection, and the most likely solution was for skipper Matt Findlay, and James Ryan to move down the order.

“Charles [Litchfield] and John are good at the top, they showed they work well together on Sunday in the colts,” he said.

“James and Matty both have the ability to bat anywhere in the top six, and it will just add depth to the batting order having them lower.”

Cavaliers wicketkeeper batsman Matt Corben has also been included in the squad, despite Mitchell vice captain Lincoln Duncan being available.

Warrington said Corben is unlikely to don the gloves, but deserved his spot through weight of runs recently.

“Corbs showed on Saturday, and Sunday how much ability he has,” he said.

“He’s scored runs, plus he is a handy option should anything happen to Lincoln and is one of the best first slippers, if not the best, in town.”

Mitchell tweaker James Conn is battling a shoulder injury, and Ryan is nursing split webbing between his right index finger and thumb.

Both players will be given up until the toss on Sunday morning before being ruled out.

Regular Kinross representatives Toby Polkinghorne and Andrew Johnson are both unavailable.

ORANGE: Matt Findlay (c), Charles Litchfield, John Warrington, Matt Baker, James Ryan, Jake Pauletto, Matt Corben, Lincoln Duncan, Jono Warren, Jackson Coote, Ed Morrish, Dan Sandford, Chris Novak, James Conn (one to be omitted).

Create your free online surveys with SurveyMonkey , the world's leading questionnaire tool.
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide